Skip to content

People Watching at the Zoo

May 31, 2011

Nell and I spent some time last Saturday at the zoo with some of our grown kids and four grandchildren.  The zoo animals were all pretty cool, but I also found myself snapping quick shots of groups of people and interesting individuals.  I took several shots of the man on the left above, and the image on the right is a composite sketch taken from several quick “people shots”.

The young lady below, just for the record, wasn’t goofing off at all, but I did catch her leaning forward on her cash register at one of the vending booths.  I walked over, gave her a business card, and asked her to resume this pose.  She was reluctant and embarrassed at first, but ended up being a good sport.  This is a quick sketch taken from the snapshot:

Working from snapshots taken in public places is a great way to get people in natural positions.  I do find that I’m a bit uneasy when I’m shooting photos of individuals and groups of total strangers, and there’s some comfort in having a stash of business cards handy in case someone askes what I’m doing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 31, 2011 8:54 pm

    You have a wonderful relaxed way of explaining your art and motivations. It’s a refreshing break from the academic so often found. I was searching for artists that travel and paint, and came upon your blog. I have plans to RV and paint too, so it’s of interest to see how others are doing it. I’ll be checking in to see your progress. BTW the decision to continue varnishing your paintings is probably best all around.

    • June 1, 2011 9:09 am

      Hi David, and thanks. Who knows, maybe we’ll bump into each other out there someday!

Leave a Reply

