Skip to content

Portrait of a Young Girl

May 28, 2011

It’s kind of cool when one discovers he’s become a “reference” for something.  I’ve discovered that my blog had visitors who came from the website ehow.com.  At the bottom of the page on How to Mix Gouache Paint, I find that my blog is listed as a reference.  That’s kind of cool, I think.

Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, here’s another portrait study.  It’s taken from an old black & white photograph, taken in the early 1900’s, one of those where part of it was hand-tinted.  In this one, the head scarf was in color, and the rest of the photo was black and white.

Portrait of a Young Girl, 8x10, Gouache

Gouache is probably not the best medium for the smooth skin tones called for in the female face.  It dries so quickly, that if one doesn’t get the color exactly right the first time, too much mucking about with it will result in some ugly mud.  And blending requires time and patience.  A LOT of patience.  But, glutton for punishment that I am, I’ll soldier on, trying to find a method for painting portraits in my chosen medium.  It’s there somewhere, and I’ll work it out.

Meanwhile, this is about as far as I dare go with this one, I think.  At some point, a painting says what you want it to say, and it’s really easy to overwork it.  I could do more, I suppose, but I’ve learned what I wanted to learn from this one, so it’s time to move on.

Next week, I may get back to a landscape, and if possible, I’ll do one with at least one figure in it.  That should be interesting.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

