Skip to content

Old Red Mill ~ Albertville, Alabama

May 24, 2011

Old Red Mill, Albertville, Alabama, 11x14, Gouache

My friend Estra Reynolds posted a photo of this old mill on Facebook a while back, and I loved it.  Having been to Alabama recently for the Southeastern Plein Air Invitational, I asked Estra if I could use the photo for a painting.  Estra is the wife of Craig Reynolds, my artist friend in Gadsden, Alabama, and she graciously allowed me to use the photo.

I haven’t found any historical information about this old mill.  I did find an interesting fact about Albertville, Alabama, however, and it seems fitting in light of recent events in that part of the country.  On April 24, 1908, a tornado ripped through Albertville, nearly wiping it off the map.  102 years later, on April 24, 2010, Albertville was again hit by an F3 tornado, damaging or destroying at least 200 homes and businesses.  I don’t know how old this old mill is, but it has definitely stood the ravages of time so far.

I enjoy painting these old places.  There have to be some stories surrounding this one.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 28, 2014 1:09 am

    hey there. I grew up not far from there, my father used to take me down by that mill all the time. Do you have copies of your work for sale? I’d love to have a painting like that

    • October 28, 2014 3:05 pm

      Hi Ralph,
      Sorry, but I don’t have copies at this time. Thanks for the interest! I’m glad you like the work.
      Ralph

  2. Heather in AL permalink
    October 27, 2015 2:32 pm

    Hi there! My grandparents farmed in the Asbury/Martling community and the old red mill was a fixture on every drive “to town.” Do you still have this painting? Is it available for purchase? My mother has now lost both of her parents and the farm has been sold to a relative. I would love to be able to give her a painting of the old red mill.

    • October 27, 2015 6:06 pm

      Heather, I’m not sure if I still have it. I’ll check and let you know.

    • November 9, 2015 12:07 pm

      Heather,
      I am sorry. I no longer have the Old Red Mill painting. I do very much appreciate your interest in it. I would be happy to discuss the possibility of doing a commission piece if I can find another reference photo, and if you are interested

Leave a Reply

