Skip to content

Dining Alone…

May 4, 2011

Dining Alone, 11x14, Gouache

As best I can pin it down, this old barn lies in the William B. Bankhead National Forest, on Hwy 74 in Alabama.  I took a photograph of it on my way home from Gadsden, Alabama.  I also took some photos of cows grazing on the same drive, and used one of them in this painting.  I’ve been wanting to incorporate an occasional cow into a few of the barn paintings, so this was a good opportunity.  My only objection to this image is that the roof is actually more of a rusty color in the actual painting.  For some reason, the camera really wanted it to be a bright red.  At any rate, this is the first of several barn paintings that will come out of the Alabama trip.

The title for this was pretty obvious to me.  I hate to eat out alone.  Apparently, cows don’t mind at all.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn Rutland Hancock permalink
    May 5, 2011 8:27 am

    This is a very soothing painting. Keep up the great work!

Leave a Reply

