Skip to content

Across the Street (Plein Air)

April 18, 2011

Across the Street, 8x10, Gouache

I bought some new brushes over the weekend and was anxious to try them out.  Since we’re down to one vehicle, my outdoor work is limited to anything within walking distance, and that’s pretty much a cookie-cutter subdivision.  So I set up on my own little front stoop and spent a couple of hours focused on the townhome unit across the street.  For some reason, I had never done that before.  It’ s pleasant architecture, but not terribly exciting.  Fortunately, the lady in the unit on the left has put some furniture out on her little front patio, which added a little interest.

Most of the structures I paint are old barns or houses, not more modern or traditional architecture such as this.  But I think I’m going to find myself on city streets and residential neighborhoods a couple of times next week at the Southeastern Plein Air Invitational in Gadsden, Alabama.  Residential houses and city buildings are not subjects I’ve painted very much, so I figured a little practice might help.  I may paint whatever else I can see from the front stoop a couple more times this week.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Z permalink
    April 18, 2011 5:20 pm

    I love this! I think its great and it doesn’t look like new architecture. It looks like it could be a little villa on a cobblestone street!

  2. Margaret Quin permalink
    April 18, 2011 9:52 pm

    I like it!! Good that you can take artist’s liberties…wish I had all my flowers blooming…would love a picture of our home!!

    • April 20, 2011 10:37 am

      Actually, Margaret, I did start a little view of your patio, but I got in a rush, and it didn’t go so well. If the wind will die down, I’ll try again.

Leave a Reply

