Skip to content

No painting at Possum Creek…

April 17, 2011

I made the decision on Friday night not to go to Possum Kingdom Lake after all.  While I believe I would have enjoyed painting in that part of Texas, the logistics didn’t work for me.  I would have spent 6 to 8 hours each day, three days in a row, just making the round trip drive between my home and PK Lake.  I would have only gotten to paint for 3 to 4 hours on Friday, and about 3 on Saturday.  That’s it.  And the 45 mph winds would have been an added challenge.  When I combined those things with the current price of gas, it didn’t make sense for me personally.  Sorry guys, but at my age, the conditions just weren’t good enough.

As it turned out, I made the right decision.  I’m afraid I would have found myself eating smoke.

The photo above shows the fire near Possum Kingdom Lake during the day Friday.  As of this writing (Sunday), the news reports indicate that three fires have joined together in the PK Lake area, over 45,000 acres have been burned, and the fire is still not contained. As of Saturday night, 30 homes and one church had been destroyed, and some 300 more homes were being threatened.  Much of Texas is being plagued by wildfires throughout the state right now, fueled by very dry conditions and high winds.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

