Skip to content

Study for Old Red

April 14, 2011

Study for Old Red, 8x10, Gouache

 This one almost became what my friend Les Lull used to refer to as a ‘frisbee’.  It started out to be a really quick study, but the greens went bad on me almost from the beginning.  You’ll notice I didn’t say I screwed up the greens. Nope.  Wasn’t my fault.  It was the greens.  They just went bad on me.  It happens sometimes, at least it happens to me.  So I hung in there, because I really do like this barn.  It’s from a photo taken by my niece, Cathy.  I think it came out fine for a study.  I like Arizona artist David Simons’ attitude about studies.  He says they’re all “studies” until they sell

I need to find some festivals for later in the year, and get back under the tent.  I’ve got way too many “studies”.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2011 7:14 pm

    I really love this one and had you not mentioned the problem you see with the
    greens I would not have been drawn to them at all. What is the size on these
    studies and what are the prices? I like the first one “Cathy’s Barn” a lot too.

    I can’t believe your tenacity and wish I had it. I need to be so much better
    disciplined with my time but I do work a lot 6 months of the year and then
    have 6 months off to paint in the mountains in the summer.

    Keep up the great work.

    Pam

    • April 18, 2011 9:12 am

      Hi Pam,
      Most of these are 8×10, with prices currently at around $250-275. You should be headed for the mountains soon, right? I always enjoy your comments here. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

