Skip to content

Driveway

April 13, 2011

Driveway, 8x10, Gouache

I’m going to join some folks at Possum Kingdom Lake for some plein air painting this weekend.  PK Lake is 79 miles west of Fort Worth, Texas, which makes it about 130 miles from my home.  I obviously didn’t look it up on the map before committing to the paintout, but I’m looking forward to it anyway.  Since I’ve never been to Possum Kingdom Lake, I did some exploring via Google StreetView, and found this back road that takes off from State Highway 16 a few miles from the lake.  It did have a gate, which was closed.  Normally, I’d paint that closed gate, because in this part of the country, an open gate is an invitation for lost cattle.  But in this little study, I wanted the viewer to feel welcome to explore, so I eliminated the gate entirely.  Other than that, this is pretty much what it looks like in that part of the country.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

