Skip to content

Looking ahead…

March 24, 2011

At Rest, 5x7, Gouache Sketch

So, I just ordered more paint.  Even though I seem to be doing more decluttering, organizing, tossing things away, and all the other things required to put the townhouse on the market and move into the RV than painting, I live in fear of running out of paint and board.

April is going to be interesting.  This coming weekend is going to be the last free weekend until May.  Every weekend in April is scheduled.  First, we haul a cargo trailer full of stuff down to Houston for a community garage sale.  The next weekend, we travel to Wichita, Kansas to see one of our grandchildren baptized.  I’m told we’re going to help paint walls while we’re there so our son and daughter-in-law can put their house on the market.

The following weekend, I hope to participate in a paint-out with the art group in Possum Kingdom, Texas as part of their weeklong Arte de los Brazos Exhibition.  PK is out west of Fort Worth.  I met Bob McCormick when he visited our booth at a festival in Weatherford, Texas (out that way) last summer.  Bob’s made good on a promise to get me involved with the festival at least by being part of the paint-out.

Then the next weekend, I’ll hit the road for Gadsden, Alabama to spend the last week in April at the Southeastern Plein Air Invitational.  Because the coming weeks leading up to that are going to be busy, I’ve started cutting boards and stocking up on paint and other materials in preparation for an intense week of painting.

Meanwhile, I’m painting in spurts, in between the decluttering, trying to keep my touch.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Z permalink
    March 27, 2011 9:34 am

    This painting is gorgeous. I love everything about this!

  2. March 28, 2011 1:00 am

    Hi Ralph,
    I like this one too as well as the cows below. I have yet to try cows up close. Took a couple of good ones of some cows while on vacation in Kansas a couple of years back so maybe soon.
    Good luck in Gadsden…that sure sounds like a lot of fun over there. I wanted to do that show too but not enough funds at the moment. I’ve seen pics of their last couple of shows and it looks pretty neat to paint around there…have a lot of fun buddy!

Leave a Reply

