Skip to content

Longneck

March 23, 2011

Longneck, 8x10, Gouache

I did a few portraits when I first started painting, but I was still in “illustrator” mode, and transferred a few landmark pencil strokes onto the board first.  In other words, I either projected or traced from a photograph.  I know… heresy in the first degree.  After those first portraits, I quit transferring images.  I was, after all, painting landscapes, and who needs to trace or project a tree?  That was over four years ago.  I have kept a small lightbox in a closet, just in case I get the urge to cheat again someday.  But I’ve been spending more time drawing lately, doing simple sketches of buildings and people, just to remind myself that I can still draw.

This is from an old photograph from about twenty years ago.  Just to see if I could do it, I went straight in with a brush and paint.  It’s a quickie, just a sketchy study, but I was in the mood to test myself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 23, 2011 9:14 pm

    Wow, this is a different dimension from what I usually see of your art – landscapes –
    but who cares how you got here – you got here and there is a real feeling about this
    guy that didn’t come from tracing or as you put it “cheating”. Cheat on! Pam

Leave a Reply

