Skip to content

Noccalula Falls

March 20, 2011

Noccalula Falls, 8x10, Gouache

At the end of April, I’ll be going to Gadsden, Alabama to participate in the Southeastern Plein Air Invitational.  I’ve never been to Gadsden, but one of the locations I hope to paint is at Noccalula Falls.  This falls runs over a cliff face and drops some 90 feet to the river below.  I don’t remember painting a waterfall of any size before, so I thought I’d take a stab at it from a photograph.  This is from a photo graciously provided by Rebecca Brock Schwartz, a Gadsden resident.

I know I don’t have the cliff and the rock formations quite right in this view.  I suspect that’s mostly a result of not actually being there.  One has to depend on the not-so-true photographic image which does distort things a bit.  But, more than anything, this was just a familiarization exercise.  I’m really looking forward to seeing the real thing up close.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

