Skip to content

The Little Jewelry Box

February 24, 2011

The Little Jewelry Box, 6x6, Gouache

My mother made lists for everything.  She also wrote notes and reminders to herself.  She had no way of knowing that Alzheimer’s would eventually rob her of her memory.  She just didn’t want to forget important things.  She also had this quirky habit of writing little identifying notes on the bottoms of things.  Today, I’m glad she did.  There is no manufacturer’s name on the bottom of this little ceramic jewelry box, just the typical words “Made in Japan”.  Although I suspect it has no real monetary value… it is, nonetheless… priceless.  Why?  Because, also on the bottom, in that oh, so familiar handwriting, are the words “1935 – at 3 weeks after we married”.

A week or so ago, I was contacted by the M. Graham paint company.  Apparently they had stumbled onto my blog and saw that I was using a competitor’s gouache.  So… a couple of days ago, I received some complimentary tubes of their gouache.  Today, I decided to take a break from the mammoth task of decluttering the house and organizing things in preparation for an estate sale.  (See my blog Back Roads & Brushes for an explanation.)

I wanted to try out the M. Graham gouache.  The tubes are about half the size of the DaVinci gouache I normally use, so instead of doing a landscape, I decided I’d try a few little still life studies.  I’ve done very little still life work with gouache.  Since I’ve been stumbling over all kinds of little treasures during the decluttering process, I’ve grabbed a few things to paint.  The first, without doubt, had to be this colorful little ceramic jewelry box that has been so familiar throughout my entire life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol Z permalink
    February 24, 2011 4:00 pm

    I KNOW that box. And I’m glad you got to try some new paints. Let us know how they work out!

  2. RL Miller permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:12 pm

    This painting made me think of a ceramic baby shoe I have from Grandma Parker that reads – 1939 David For Chuck’s 1st baby with floral arrangement Grandma Parker. It was nice to pull it out and remember her.

    • March 4, 2011 9:49 am

      Rickie, we’ve kept way too much stuff, but sometimes there are little things you just need to put away, for that very reason. Thanks for the added memories.

Leave a Reply

