Skip to content

San Gabriel River, Georgetown, Texas

December 29, 2010

North Fork, San Gabriel River, 8x10, Gouache

While in Austin, Texas for my youngest grandson’s first birthday, he and my daughter took me out under a somewhat overcast sky to take some reference photos.  We found this spot north of Austin, in Georgetown, where the river very quietly meandered through the rocks under North Austin Avenue.  Sometimes one just needs some new inspiration.  The photos I took that weekend provided it for me, and even opened my eyes to possibilities with some existing reference material as well.

For this one, I started working from the pencil sketch (see below), then used the actual photo for reference as the painting progressed.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn Rutland Hancock permalink
    December 29, 2010 12:05 pm

    Ralph, this painting is absolutely gorgeous, and reminds me of scenes around Austin while I was in college there. I can imagine the sound of the water going over the rocks. Carolyn

  2. Margaret Quin permalink
    December 29, 2010 4:42 pm

    Love it!! Posted it on my Facebook Page!

Leave a Reply

