Skip to content

Being thankful

November 25, 2010

On this Thanksgiving Day, I have much to be thankful for.  In spite of much neglect and abuse, I am in good health.  I have a loving wife, four grown children and eight grandchildren, all of whom are also in good health.  I live in a country where, despite its many flaws, public discourse is encouraged and differing opinions are accepted.  There is no gunfire in the streets, no rumbling of military vehicles, no sounds of exploding bombs.  While people in other places face hunger and fear, I will spend the day with part of my family, watch the Thanksgiving Day parade on TV, enjoy an obscene meal, and watch my favorite professional football team play.

At age 66, nearing 67, I continue to grow and develop as an artist, learning new skills, regaining old ones, and accepting that, while I may never reach my youthful dream of becoming rich and famous, I still have the ability to create beauty in the quiet pursuit of my art.  Through what I still consider the “magic” of the internet, I have  made the acquaintance of artists throughout the world, and enjoy a mutual sharing of a passion most people never find.   Much to my surprise, I am learning that what I do can sometimes encourage and inspire others.  What can be better than that?

My life is peaceful and good.  And for that I am truly thankful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 5:51 pm

    I am so glad that I have found your talent and perseverance through the internet. I also have
    your passion of wanting to create art and since I am just turned 63 and it seems you started to
    really apply yourself at the same age you are truly an inspiration to me. I love you are and you
    are so generous to spend you time and energy helping other artists like myself find direction
    although I hope we don’t detract from your energy and time. Happy Thanksgiving to you and
    your family. Pam

Leave a Reply

