Skip to content

Lighthouse

August 11, 2010

I don’t normally like to do “challenges”.  While I do paint almost constantly, I much prefer to find and select subjects on my own.  But my friends in the “Gouache Corner” at wetcanvas.com challenged me last week to paint from one of the photos posted for August.  Not wanting to be an old fuddy-duddy, I decided to rise to the challenge.  I log on there as “Old Tex”, by the way.  I chose this scene because it was very different from my normal work, and a little out of my comfort zone.  (I don’t live near the water.)  Still, it’s not a bad little study.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. nancy butler permalink
    August 11, 2010 7:01 pm

    I’ve never seen such beautiful gouache paintings. For health reasons I’ve been searching for an alternative to oils, and pastels, which I also love are good too, I long for the painterly look you’re obviously able to get.

    Thank you for being here and I’m going to follow this eagerly,

    Nancy Butler

    • August 30, 2010 12:11 pm

      Nancy, thank you so much for the kind comments. I wish you well with your gouache experiments.

  2. August 11, 2010 9:37 pm

    I like it. The bright red roof really pops against the blues!

Leave a Reply

