Skip to content

Another shot at Claybord

July 26, 2010

I’ve brushed a layer of Liquitex acrylic gesso on a couple of the Amersand Claybord panels, and taken another shot at it, again in a 6×6 size…

I’m much, much happier with the surface.  The gesso isn’t terribly heavy, and I don’t sand it.  It’s a fairly light coat, but enough to allow brush strokes to show under the gouache.  The only way I know to describe the surface now is that it has a sort of satin finish, and it takes the gouache nicely.  There is still the possibility of lifting, as you can see in this little landscape piece, most noticeable up in the grass area near the path.  Again, lifting in grass areas doesn’t particularly bother me.  What you may be able to notice in the lifted spots is that the brush didn’t go all the down to the white surface.  I would probably have to work at it to have that happen now.  The gesso does absorb a certain amount of the gouache, leaving some slight staining.  I’ll play with this one a bit more to get it the way I want it, but the experimental part is successful.

This works for me.  In fact, I’ve already got an 8×10 in the works on the same surface.

Just thought I’d share.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Marilyn permalink
    March 7, 2014 12:23 pm

    I would be very happy if this were my painting! I have used Ampersand panels with watercolor, found they lfted too easily but after fighting with it, I liked the outcome. Must try a panel with gouache.

Leave a Reply

