Skip to content

At The End of the Windbreak (with details)

July 20, 2010

This one is posted on my Showcase blog, but I’ve included a couple of details for my artist friends.

This is 8×10, gouache on gessoed cold press Crescent board.  I also brushed on a light yellow ochre undercoat before beginning the painting.  The palette is burnt sienna, yellow ochre, cobalt blue and titanium white.  I’m enjoying two new brushes that are helping me as I try to develop my calligraphy strokes in the tree branches and the tall grasses:

*Robert Simmons Sienna, size 2, #SN67L (this is a filbert, that I can use flat for wider strokes, or on its edge, for very thin strokes and lines) I suspect this one will wear down eventually.

*Robert Simmons Sapphire, size 0, #S85 (this is a liner, that I’ve also started using for signatures) Used with a very light touch, I find I can get some really thin, almost hairlines with this one.

The only negative I’m finding is my own sometimes not so steady hand. I probably should be using a maulstick more often. For that, I took a standard old wood yardstick with a hole in one end, and it hangs from the back of my easel. I should probably use a proper round stick, but I had the yardstick in the garage (a freebie from some store).

 Here are a couple of details, enhanced slightly to highlight the brushwork and surface texture.  You can see the texture of the gesso in the second image, which I just brush on in random strokes, with no sanding.

I think this one is really going to glow once it’s varnished.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 4:10 pm

    This is really effective, Ralph! I like the yellow ochre undercoat, and your calligraphy is very good, and definitely gives the right effect. Is the filbert a stiff oil or acrylic type brush? I have been using some flat small acrylic brushes for my gouache so far, I like the spring in the bristles.

    • July 20, 2010 7:23 pm

      Thanks Lynn. It’s a synthetic brush, for oils. Good shape and spring.

      Watercolor brushes don’t work for me, unless I’m intentionally putting washes over a pencil sketch.

  2. July 21, 2010 5:57 am

    Just found your blog- great paintings! I love working with gouache but hardly ever do. This makes me want to go back to it!

Leave a Reply

