Skip to content

New Series starts Monday

May 30, 2010

WAGONS….

The idea, as previously stated, is to post a new small painting every day.  It may not have been painted on that specific day, but it will be new.  I am an “every day painter“, unless traveling, or unless I’m totally involved in something non-art, which is very rare.  Some days, if I’m working on a larger painting, the small ones take second place.  But even the larger ones will be within that week’s subject matter.  I want this to be a challenge, but not a chore.

I like the idea of having a specific subject matter to paint throughout an entire week.  With so many references to paint from, I often find myself perusing a ton of photographs while trying to decide what to paint next.  This “subject of the week” approach should reduce the amount of time spent browsing and imagining how I would paint this or that scene or subject.  It will also force me to try some things I’ve only done one or two times – or which I’ve never attempted at all.

I decided to go with the “pull one from the hat” idea.  So… this morning, I wrote over 25 subject areas on slips of paper, and, to keep myself totally honest, had Nell pull one out.  The subject for next week is “wagons”.  I don’t have many references of my own, so I’ll need to do some searching for this one.  One good source of copyright-free images is the WetCanvas Reference Image Library.  There are thousands of photos in the WC library, taken by artists and posted for other artists to use freely.  I’ll probably also have to look in a few other places online.

I’ve only painted one wagon to date (“Derelict” – posted below), so this should be an interesting – and challenging – exercise.

Stay tuned.

 
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 5:37 pm

    Now that’s going to be a challenging subject to cover for a weeek Ralph. Looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

Leave a Reply

