Skip to content

A Texas Barn

March 11, 2010

I started this a couple of weeks ago, but revamping the blog, and getting ready for the show in Houston got in the way.  Quite often, if a painting sits too long, I may not end up finishing it.  But I had too much time and work invested in this one.  This is a return to the barn paintings, with an emphasis on having fun with the textures.

The barn is a few miles from where we live.  It’s almost hidden by a grove of trees, and if it hadn’t been winter, we probably would have missed it.  It’s on a large plot of ground almost surrounded by an upscale subdivision.  If the developers don’t tear it down first, it will probably fall down on its own within the next five years.

The barn underwent several color changes, and when I settled on the blue/gray version, there was a layer of yellow ochre underneath.  This was painted on gessoed Crescent board, and when I gesso, I leave the brush strokes without sanding them down.  Using a damp paper towel, I cut back to the ochre in some places and had a pleasant surprise.  The texture of the gesso added to the barn wood.  I did some similar manipulations with the foreground grasses, wiping back in places, and using a fan brush in a sort of “jab” fashion.  I like it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 11, 2010 5:19 am

    I like your paintings. And your style of presenting and selling your work is interesting. I think that gouache is perfect medium to express the energy. For me it is surprisingly to see that there are so few followers of gouache! I will read your web site and blog.
    Good luck.
    Leonid

    • March 11, 2010 5:00 pm

      Leonid, at my age, I still find it amazing that someone on the other side of the world can see and comment on my work. You’ve got some nice work on your blog as well, my friend. Thank you for your visit and for your comments.

  2. March 11, 2010 5:17 pm

    This is beautiful. Love the ways you were able to bring out texture!

Leave a comment