Skip to content

Show season is approaching

February 18, 2010

Our show season starts in a couple of weeks, and we’re going to hit the ground running.  We’ll start off on March 6th at the monthly First Saturday Arts Market in the Houston Heights.  Two weeks later, we’re booked for the Azalea Trails show in Tyler.  We’ll also be doing two shows in April:  the First Saturday Arts Market, followed one week later at a new show in Fulshear, Texas, the Cross Creek Ranch Arts Festival.  I’ll have more info on that one pretty soon.

I’ve done a lot of painting over the winter break, and now it’s time to start sorting out what makes it into the shows.  I’ve stacked old and new along the wall of the studio, and just counting the work that’s been matched up to frames, we’ve got over 45 pieces 8×10 and larger, plus a lot of 5x7s.  We’ll take less than half that many, so there’s obviously a tough selection process to go through.  I’ve started varnishing the newer ones in preparation for framing.

We do know that we’ll take a small group of the little street scenes, maybe six or so.  They’ll be matted and framed under glass, like the example shown here.  That’s a departure from my norm, but I’m doing it for two reasons.  First, they’re very different, and I want to show them differently.  And second, I’d like to test the reaction to the framing approach (matted/glass vs directly into the frame).  It would be nice to know if it makes any difference in sales.  I prefer not to frame them this way, but it would be foolish to miss out on sales because of something that’s easily done.  They’ll all be framed the same way with the same frame.  Who knows, maybe someone will buy the whole grouping.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 1:52 am

    Can’t wait to see you in a couple of weeks here in Houston!

  2. December 27, 2010 10:02 am

    Just curious…..I went through a period of varnishing watercolours, but ended up going back to the “tried and true” under glass. I did, however, get really involved with framing….as in DIY and have gotten quite good at it. Something I once detested, I now enjoy….to say nothing of the money saved.
    So….where you able to come to a conclusion….?
    I guess I’m a little late….;-)
    Your paintings are wonderful and I keep wanting to go to gouache….simply because one doesn’t have to keep thinking “keep the white”, but I don’t imagine it will come easily….
    I’ll stay in touch….your writings and teachings are much appreciated.

    • December 29, 2010 5:23 pm

      Brian, I’m assuming the “conclusion” you refer to has to do with matting and framing a few under glass. Since then, I’ve taken 3 or 4 framed that way, and ended up with broken glass on one at two different shows. Very frustrating. I’ll do it again, I think, but I’ll have to bubble wrap them very, very carefully. You’ll have to adjust your thinking a bit, but I’ve decided one who does transparent watercolor should be able to get into gouache easily enough. It’s pretty forgiving.

Leave a Reply

