Skip to content

Path To The River

February 16, 2010

I had a good idea of how I wanted to treat this scene.  If I could have channeled a combination of Andrew Wyeth and Erik Tiemens I would have, but instead I just spent a little time studying some of Erik Tiemens’ gouache/watercolor work.  I’m an unabashed Tiemens fan.  I’ve stated here before that I believe he is one of the true masters of gouache landscape painting.  Occasionally, I like to peruse his blog and website, just to be reminded that it’s okay to use small, pointed brushes.

The jumping off point for this picture was a photo I took somewhere in Arkansas.  There was road that led down to a river, and a path from the road to the water’s edge.  Lots of sticks and tall weeds and skinny trees, with a thick canopy of leaves overhead.  It was an overcast day, and I wanted to capture a touch of that, but it is my nature to find a little bit of sunlight somewhere.  The primary intent of the exercise was to portray that thicket of thin trees and weeds, so I took considerable license.  It looks nothing like the photo.  I’d love to be able to paint those weeds the way Tiemens does, but had to settle for my own version.

8×10, gouache on cold press Crescent board

2 Comments leave one →
  1. john permalink
    February 25, 2010 3:08 am

    Hey Ralph, I’m no art critic, but I know what I like and I like this one. This must be the other end of the road into the woods that you did a while back! You can almost hear the crickets and the water rushing past that point in the middle.

    John

    • February 25, 2010 1:34 pm

      Thanks John! I love doing these old roads and paths. They remind me of quiet times in the country.

Leave a Reply

