Skip to content

Big Sky

February 11, 2010

Skies are usually an integral part of my paintings, but for some reason, any time I have set out to paint just a sky, it never works very well.  I think it’s because I’ve tried too hard to paint fancy cloud formations that are supposed to have a “wow” factor.  Never has worked.  This one was headed down the same path, until I shifted gears and decided to try to work the sky the same way I would if it was just a supporting character in an overall picture.   Lots to learn here, but I’m happy with this attempt.

16×20, gouache on cold press Crescent board

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2010 2:23 am

    Ralph, Art is such a mystery. I’m surprised there are no comments on this one. I saw this and just thought “WHOA”. I’m a huge fan of Ed Mel, the Arizona artist; this is reminiscent. Sky was often his main subject matter. Also reminds me of Marc Rothko, a favorite abstract artist. I’m guessing you might like him, too. Love the blue and orange interplay. Beautiful image. Best regards and always lurking. C

    • February 18, 2010 3:58 pm

      One never knows, Candace, and I’m always delighted when people do comment. I see what you mean about Ed Mel. I’ve often said that I didn’t get the abstract gene, but I doubt that there are truly very many artists that haven’t in some way been influenced by the juxtaposition of solid colors that Rothko became famous for. I couldn’t just paint solid bands of color, but I have experimented with the concept in compositional terms. Thanks for dropping in. It’s always nice to hear from you.

  2. Jo Morton permalink
    September 27, 2014 2:58 am

    Love this one. Big Sky indeed!

Leave a Reply

