Skip to content

Street Market

January 4, 2010

After doing so many little 5×7 street scenes, I decided it was time to step up and do one at a decent size.  This is from a photograph, and I kept the architecture fairly faithful, I think, albeit pretty loosely rendered.  The figures are a mixture of those in the original photo and a lot of made up ones.  I tried to keep the whole thing loose and painterly.  In doing so, one of my fears was that with so much going on in this scene, it could be pretty chaotic.  It was that, actually, during the painting process, and on more than one occasion I had to step back and study it to keep track of where I was in the painting.  One has to do that often as sort of a visual gps system, especially when the scene is busy, with a lot going on in different planes and at different angles in a fairly confined space.  Keeping things in proportion is a challenge as well.   I didn’t do a preliminary drawing of this scene.  Instead, I jumped in right from the start with a very loose, simple brush sketch, and made a few adjustments throughout the process.  It was actually a lot of fun.

11×14, gouache on cold press Crescent board

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

