Skip to content

Street Scenes

November 28, 2009

A year or so ago, as part of my development as a painter, I tried a couple of street scenes.  I knew I shouldn’t expect much in the beginning, but the results turned me off, and I turned back to my standard countryside subjects.  The desire to paint these scenes has remained strong, however, and the urge to try it again has lain just below the surface.  Recent introductions to the work of Australian watercolor painter Joseph Zbukvic, and the gouache street scenes of French painter Eugene Galien Laloue (1854-1941) have inspired me to begin exploring the subject again.  As I begin to experiment with street scenes, I choose to start small (5×7), just as my first painting attempts nearly three years ago were small.  I want to retain a loose, sketchy flavor, and I also want to experiment with a combination of transparent and opaque uses of gouache within the same piece.  Here are my first four attempts at street scenes.

A companion post, The Art Of Drawing, posted the same day, deals with the drawing aspect of this work, and includes pencil sketches that are a part of my development of the subject.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2009 4:05 am

    This last one is particularly stunning, Ralph! They’re all good, all interesting, but there’s something about the last one. I think it’s the light, though maybe also the palette that appeals to me. Good to see these. We all need to stretch our wings and try something new now and then!

    • December 1, 2009 2:27 pm

      Thanks Deborah! I knew you would find these interesting. I appreciate you stopping by.

  2. benedictedelachanal permalink
    December 1, 2009 2:06 pm

    I have been admiring your paintings, landscapes,for a while and your street scenes caught my eye. Different subject but the same quality in color and mise en page. Then I was stunned reading your text and seeing the name of Galien-Laloue. He is not mentioned often. It was funny, he is my husband great grand father, small world.

    • December 1, 2009 2:37 pm

      Benedicte, what a pleasant surprise, and pleasure, to find your comment here. I’m glad you like the work I’m doing. It’s a great compliment from someone not only talented like yourself, but also with a family history of great art. I only recently became aware of Galien-Laloue’s work, and am truly fascinated by his treatment of street scenes on a grand scale. He put so much into every painting that I’ve seen. Every time I look at one of them, I find something new. Thank you so much for visiting, and for finally saying hello!

  3. benedictedelachanal permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:15 pm

    Thank you Ralph for your answer, very kind.
    I love gouache and watercolor, and inks, all water medium.
    Do you know this blog? very interesting, and the demo was very instructive for me.
    http://virtualgouacheland.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

