Skip to content

Paradise Cove

August 27, 2009

I wanted to paint this scene very much, and used it as a sort of laboratory… to experiment with color that I don’t normally use, some varations in brushwork, and an attempt to capture the atmosphere of the place.  I learned a lot while painting this one, things which I hope will carry into future paintings.  I think this may be a milestone in my development as a landscape painter.  It’s 16×20, gouache on Crescent illustration board.

Paradise Cove 082709

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer B. permalink
    August 28, 2009 3:44 pm

    Wow! It is purely breathtaking. Wish I was there.

    • September 1, 2009 12:28 pm

      The scene caught my attention immediately, Jennifer. I only got a couple of photographs at this particular spot, but a lot of others as well. This was a joy to paint.

  2. Ronnie permalink
    September 2, 2009 6:46 pm

    I like it as well. Good Job!

  3. February 4, 2010 1:09 pm

    Thank you for the interesting read! Alright playtime is over and back to school work.

Leave a Reply

