Skip to content

Little House by the Garden

May 20, 2009

Due to a paint peeling issue, I’ve recently had to remove some 25 paintings from my inventory.  It was kind of disappointing to go to the show in Houston without some of those pieces.  Since some of them were personal favorites, and, I believe, some of my better work, I’ve been repainting some of them.  Sadly, you can never recapture the same feel that occured in the moment, but they’re close, and I’m going to be happy with them.  In between those, just to keep things fresh, I did this little imagination piece.  I tried to keep it loose and fun, just exploring the colors and brushwork.  This is 8×10, gouache on Multimedia Artboard.

Little House by the Garden

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2009 3:01 pm

    You have a way of understating…”it was kind of disappointing”. 25 paintings is huge. What was the technical issue, Ralph?

    • May 24, 2009 1:55 pm

      Poor prep work on my part, Candace. Learn your lessons well, as I know you will when you start getting into the painting phase of that wonderful art education you’re getting. I think we’ve narrowed it down to using acrylic gesso on tempered masonite. Apparently there is oil in the tempered masonite that doesn’t let the gesso adhere properly. Thanks for checking in occasionally!

Leave a Reply

