Skip to content

Experimenting…

March 30, 2009

I spent some time on Eric Tiemens’ blog yesterday, not to try to paint like him (only in my dreams), but to learn a bit more about painting with gouache. I consider Eric to be the absolute, incredible master of this medium. I was finding that painting was becoming a bit of an intense exercise, and I needed to relax a bit, and just let some things happen. One of the things I’m trying to do here is to embrace the watercolor aspects of gouache, and try less to paint like an oil painter… and to not worry about things so much and just paint. It’s been a refreshing, and very enlightening exercise.

I’m waiting for some new artboard to arrive that I want to try, so I’ve been working on illustration board while waiting for the new stuff. These are both 5×7, on Crescent cold press illustration board.
barn-on-hill-033009

white-barn-033009

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    March 31, 2009 11:12 pm

    Very nice art work !

Leave a Reply

