Skip to content

Ohio Barn

February 25, 2009

I am fascinated by these old structures.  Some of them are huge!  This is another one in Ohio, and it just seemed kind of majestic sitting up on the hillside off the highway.  I presume the upper part must be for hay storage, because there were no windows on the two sides I could see.  I added the opening up near the roof peak, assuming there was one there.  That part of the barn was obscured by a tree.  I took some license with the landscape by moving a few trees around.

This is 8×10, gouache on gessoed masonite.

big-gray-barn-ohio-022509

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer B. permalink
    February 25, 2009 10:20 pm

    I love this one!! Such a variety of color and textures. It’s my current favorite.

  2. February 26, 2009 12:56 pm

    Another gorgeous one. Love the stick trees, those look amazing.

  3. March 6, 2009 10:22 pm

    I love your work!
    Diane

Leave a Reply

