Skip to content

Red House

February 23, 2009

I’m not sure where I’m headed, but this is another step in that direction.  This is from a photo taken from the highway, somewhere in Ohio.  It’s gouache, of course, on gessoed masonite ~ 8×10.

red-house-on-hill

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Debra permalink
    February 24, 2009 2:38 am

    Wow, I really like this painting! I live in SW Ohio, and the red house reminds me of some of the rural houses around here. Love the colors and brushstrokes in this one.

    I think you did a great job on the “bare trees” in your previous post. I like how the branches kind of merge into the sky.

    • February 24, 2009 8:33 pm

      Thanks Debra! I really appreciate your kind comments. I love the houses and barns in that part of the country.

  2. m collier permalink
    February 24, 2009 4:00 pm

    Very nice paintings.

  3. Carol permalink
    February 25, 2009 5:48 pm

    This is nice, I like the broad brush strokes in the larger areas of canvas. Nice!

  4. March 18, 2009 3:51 am

    I like this little painting a great deal, it has a warmth of touch and your personality seems to come through in ways that you don’t always see in this type of work. A bit forlorn as well – in a good Edward Hopper kind of way, someone I hope you get to look at. Do you work from life at all or just from photos?

    Thanks for you comment on my boulder paintings, by the way.

    • March 18, 2009 1:32 pm

      Thanks Larry, for the comments and for stopping in. I meant it about the rock studies. I’ll be looking at them quite a bit, I think.

Leave a Reply

