Skip to content

Catching Up

February 16, 2009

I am really behind with the blog.  December was busy with work and holidays, and my day job was a killer during the entire month of January.  The good news is that I am now retired from the day job, and can now devote full time to the business of being an artist.  I hope to get the blog – and my website – up to date very soon.

Nell and I drove up to Mt. Vernon, Ohio last week, so she could visit with her mom.  They had experienced some severe weather the week before, subfreezing temps and heavy snow.  The snow was almost gone, but I did manage to take a ton of reference photos.  Since I had been sick in January, I chose not to paint outdoors while there.

Here are three little studies I did Friday after we got home.  All are 5×7, and of course, all are gouache.  These are on gessoed masonite.

house-1-021309

house-2-021309

house-3-021309

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 17, 2009 10:22 pm

    These are FANTASTIC! I love the lines on these and the colors are soothing and peaceful. Nice!

    • February 17, 2009 10:57 pm

      Thanks Carol! The brushstrokes on these are a result of laying the paint in quickly. Wish I could carry that into the bigger stuff without tightening up.

Leave a Reply

