Skip to content

Summer On The Kokosing

December 11, 2008

This is based on a photo taken last summer of the Kokosing River as it passes through Mount Vernon, Ohio. 

summer-on-the-kokosing-for-blog16×20

Gouache on gessoed masonite

A while back, I did two 22×28 paintings, the largest I’ve ever done in gouache.   One of them, The Grounds At Avonell, is posted here on the blog.  I enjoyed it, and found it wasn’t nearly as difficult as I had anticipated, so I’ve been wanting to try another one, maybe not quite so large.  This is the result.

Still a little tweaking to do on this, I think.  It’s been suggested I add a little movement to the water, and darken the reflections of the trees.  That might give it a little more punch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

