Skip to content

West Texas Driveway

October 30, 2008

I love the West Texas landscape. A lot of people pass through that part of the country and complain that it’s just desolate and unattractive. I’ve traveled out to San Angelo (south of Abilene) several times a year for some thirty years to visit my brother and his family, and my wife and I lived there for a time until circumstances brought us back to North Texas. It’s country where one can stop and spend time in deep thought without distractions. It’s where, about three years ago, I sat in an Alzheimer’s care center and held my mother’s hand as she took her last breath. I’ve kicked the dirt and stared at the sky and made some major life decisions out there.

For some time, I’ve wanted to attempt to paint that landscape, but didn’t feel I was ready. So now begins a new phase of learning, because with its live oaks, mesquite, juniper, dry grasses and rocks and dirt, I think it’s going to be an entirely new palette. This is a first attempt.

This is from a photo taken a couple of weekends ago when we went out for a visit. In between family activities, my nephew took me out for a couple of hours to shoot reference material. It took a while for him to understand what I was looking for, but I think I got some of what I wanted. This is a simple scene, but it’s a good representation of how that part of the country speaks to me, and thus a good starting point.

Gouache on gessoed masonite 8x10

Gouache on gessoed masonite 8x10

One Comment leave one →
  1. John permalink
    November 3, 2008 2:57 pm

    Thanks, John! There’s more to come, I’m sure.

    Turned out excellent! I’m looking forward to more images from that outing!

Leave a Reply

