Skip to content

“The Grounds at Villa Avonell”

October 11, 2008

 

The Grounds At Villa Avonell ~ 22x28

The Grounds At Villa Avonell ~ Gouache on gessoed masonite 22x28

This was my first attempt at a large gouache painting.  Having worked at sizes no larger than 11×14, I had no idea what to expect, but found it to be not as difficult as I anticipated.  This now hangs, with a companion piece the same size (yes, I did two of them), in our living room.  We had bought a couple of prints in special frames when we moved into our townhouse.  I had grown tired of the prints, but we love the frames, so it was time to put my own work into them.  Because I varnish my finished paintings, they are mounted directly into the frames.

The scene is imaginary.  To my knowledge, there is no such place as “Villa Avonell”… except in my heart.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer B. permalink
    October 20, 2008 12:59 pm

    I really like this one. It reminds me of one of those Ohio mornings. You have done a great job of using your imagination to create a spectacular piece.

  2. October 21, 2008 3:17 am

    Hi, Jennifer! I’m really glad you like it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

