Skip to content

The Small Ones Sell

October 8, 2008

The little 5x7s seem to sell.  The gallery sold these two this past week.  It’s not a lot of money, but it will buy enough paint and boards to do a lot of paintings.  Both are gouache; the first is on gessoed masonite, the second is on illustration board.

 Tree Study 5×7 This one was out of my head.  I realized I hadn’t been doing many tree trunks lately, so this was just a little exercise.

Shed 5×7  This little shed was in back of a barn at an abandoned farm not far from where I live.  It looked like the only thing holding it up was the two little trees.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 8, 2008 7:48 pm

    Do you have a favorite brand of illustration board or masonite? Do you buy online or at your local art supply? Just wondering as I am exploring options for my mixed media pieces. These are gorgeous.

  2. October 9, 2008 1:15 am

    Carol, it depends on how you’re going to display your pieces, and what kind of media you’ll be using. Masonite, of course, will be the most rigid, and you can paint on it with just about anything. I’d suggest buying a small jar/bottle of white gesso (the label may say “for oils and acrylics” which is fine). Use a 1″ brush dedicated only for gesso, brush it on with varying strokes, and be sure to wash the brush with water very thoroughly when you’re done. You’ll want a couple of coats. Many artist sand it down for a slick finish, but I prefer to let the brush strokes show through. I’ve found I can paint on it within a couple of hours. For illustration board, my preference is Crescent cold press, because it has some texture to it. Hot press is a smooth surface, and some people prefer that, but I like the texture, and think it takes the paint better. I use illustr. board with and without gesso, depending on how I want to paint. You just have to experiment. You can buy small pieces of masonite at your art supply, which is what I do, mainly because I don’t have a table saw. If I did, I’d probably buy it in large sheets at HD or Lowe’s, and cut it myself. They should have it in most of the standard off-the-shelf frame sizes. At this point, the only thing I buy online is paint. Cut the illustration board slightly larger than your picture size, so you can tape it down with drafting tape (not masking tape!!), then you can trim the edges off when you’re finished. If you’re painting pretty wet, the board will warp, thus the reason for taping it down well. If you intend to frame your pieces directly into a frame, for what I think you’re doing, my suggestion is masonite in a standard frame size. ~ and Thanks!

  3. Joanne Dula permalink
    October 9, 2008 3:39 pm

    I just love your work. I wish you much success! Thank you Nell for sharing this with me.
    Joanne Dula
    Portamedic

  4. October 10, 2008 3:05 am

    Hi Joanne! Thanks so much for the visit and for the compliment. Come back from time to time. There will be more, I promise.

Leave a Reply

