Skip to content

A Country Road

December 15, 2010

When I first thought I was finished with this, an artist friend online made some suggestions.  So I took it back to the easel and made some adjustments.  Now I’m happy with it.  Thanks, Wayne, for that extra pair of eyes.

A Country Road, 10x8, Gouache

This is one of my favorite compositions, and I return to it periodically, trying new color palettes and brushwork.  This is the most recent variation on the theme.  The color palette was ultramarine, yellow ochre, burnt sienna, burnt umber, yellow medium, and titanium white.  I’ve been playing with color mixtures, starting out with a gray, using ultramarine and either burnt umber or burnt sienna, and white.  I then slowly work in yellow ochre and/or yellow medium to develop the greens.  It does tone the greens down, but I’m still surprised at how bright the colors are.

The reference I worked from was this black and white pencil sketch:

  I’ve posted some blown up details of the painting below.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Grant Hambrick permalink
    January 25, 2011 9:22 pm

    Ralph:

    Thanks for the interesting commentary on your beautiful paintings. I am a beginning artist interested in landscapes. Although I paint with acrylics, I tried gouache the other day because you inspired me. I find myself visiting your website once a week to see what you are doing.

    Thanks,

    Grant H.
    Madison, Wisconsin

Trackbacks

  1. A Country Road «

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 208 other followers

